Client portal

Help To Buy

Help to Buy is a government scheme designed to help first time buyers get on a property ladder.

Help to Buy is a government scheme designed to help first time buyers get a property by borrowing up to 20% (40% in London) of the value of a property and just a 5% deposit. The loan is interest-free for the first five years. It makes it more affordable for people to own their own homes.

There are two different options of Help to buy scheme: an equity loan and a shared ownership. We can help you get the solution you need!

How it works

An equity loan (England)

First option, Help to buy equity loan, allows you to borrow a low-interest loan to put towards the cost of purchasing a new build home.

If you’re interested and want to take out a low-interest loan, you’ll need at least 5% of the sale price of your new-build flat or house as a deposit. The government will lend you up to 20% (up to 40% in London). You’ll need a mortgage of up to 75% for the rest (up to 55% in London). You must buy your home from a registered Help to Buy builder. The home you buy must be a new build and the purchase price must be no more than the set loan cap per region:

RegionMaximum property price
North East£186,100
North West£224,400
Yorkshire and
the Humber
East Midlands£261,900
West Midlands£255,600
East of England£407,400
South East£437,600
South West£349,000


The equity loan must be repaid after 25 years, or earlier if you sell your home.

*there is no maximum household income level

Shared ownership (UK)

The second option is for those who can’t afford to buy a home through a traditional mortgage. With the Help to buy shared ownership scheme, they get the opportunity to buy a share of it.

If you’re a first-time buyer, and you earn less than £80,000 a year per household (£90,000 in London), you might be able to take out a shared ownership mortgage. What does it mean? You would be taking out a mortgage for a certain percentage of a property, and your landlord or the government would own the rest. Then, you would be paying a reduced amount of rent on the value of the property that’s not in your name.

Who is eligible for Help to buy?

Here are the main criteria for Help to Buy:

  • you must be a first time buyer
  • you must be at least 18 years old
  • you must have at least 5% deposit of the full purchase price of the property
  • You must buy your home from a homebuilder registered for Help to Buy: Equity Loan.

What is the difference between an Equity loan and Shared Ownership?

The key difference is that with an equity loan you purchase and legally own the whole property while with the shared ownership scheme you purchase only a share of the property.

If you have any questions regarding the Help to Buy program or our services, please do not hesitate to contact us. Our mortgage advisers will be happy to answer your questions and explain all the details.

Your Home (or property) may be repossessed if you do not keep up repayments on your mortgage or any other debts secured on it. Conveyancing services are not regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.